Skip navigation
Oklahoma Arts CouncilOklahoma Arts Council

Governor's Arts Awards 2010
2013 Governor's Arts Awards

Governor's Arts Awards

The Governor's Arts Awards is an annual event recognizing individuals and organizations whose efforts have impacted the arts in their communities or throughout the state. First awarded in 1975, the awards are presented by the Governor during a special ceremony at the Oklahoma State Capitol.

2014 Governor's Arts Awards

The 2014 Governor's Arts Awards ceremony will take place this fall at the Oklahoma state Capitol. To receive updates about the event, be sure to sign up for the Oklahoma Arts Council newsletter.

Each year, the Oklahoma Arts Council solicits nominations for the Governor's Arts Awards. Nominations are accepted beginning in June, and the deadline for submissions is in early August.

Selection Process
Award recipients are selected by members of the Governor's Arts Awards Selection Committee, which is comprised of Governor-appointed Oklahoma Arts Council board members, and may include past Governor's Award recipients. The Selection Committee reserves the right to honor a recipient in a category of its choice. 

Nominees must be current, full-time Oklahoma residents or organizations that work in and for the benefit of Oklahoma. Previous recipients of the Governor's Award are not eligible. To view past award winners, click here.

The Selection Committee reserves the right to honor a recipient in a category of its choice. 

The following sections are included in the nomination form. Submissions do not have to address every section:



The following are made available during the Governor's Arts Awards ceremony:

If you plan to attend the Governor's Arts Awards ceremony and have needs related to accessibility not listed above, please contact us at (405) 521-2931 or It is the goal of the Oklahoma Arts Council staff to meet the needs of all our constituents who want to attend the Governor's Arts Award to help us recognize our honorees.

For more information contact our Director of Marketing & Communications.