Skip navigation

Oklahoma Arts Council announces 2012 Governor's Arts Awards winners


Joel Gavin
Director of Marketing and Communications
(405) 521-2037

Oklahoma Arts Council announces 2012 Governor's Arts Awards winners

Oklahoma City - The Oklahoma Arts Council today announced the names of eleven individuals and eight organizations that will be honored for their contributions to the arts during the 37th Annual Governor?s Arts Awards.

The honors will be awarded by Governor Mary Fallin on Thursday, November 8 during a special ceremony at the Oklahoma state Capitol. The ceremony will begin at 4 p.m. in the 4th Floor Rotunda. A reception on the Capitol's first floor will follow. The event is free and open to the public.

Set to perform during the ceremony is Oklahoma performing artist Travis Kidd, an award-winning musician from Tulsa who was an official Oklahoma Centennial performing artist in 2007 with his song Oklahoma Sunset.

Oklahoma Arts Council Executive Director Kim Baker said the awards bring recognition to individuals and organizations making a difference in communities throughout the state. "Each year we hear new stories of Oklahomans going above and beyond to enrich their communities using the arts. In communities like Arnett and Mangum, and in cities like Broken Arrow and Edmond, there are passionate people and community-focused organizations that deserve this recognition."

Governor?s Arts Awards recipients are selected from submitted nominations by members of the Governor?s Arts Awards Selection Committee. This year?s honorees include:

The Governor's Award recognizes longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts. Honorees are:

Dr. Don Betz, Edmond
Christian Keesee, Oklahoma City
Charles Ward, Tulsa

The Business in the Arts Award recognizes individuals, businesses and corporations that exhibit outstanding support of the arts in Oklahoma. The honoree is:

AVB Bank, Broken Arrow

The Media in the Arts Award is given to an individual member of the media or media outlet that demonstrates commitment to the arts in Oklahoma documented through public awareness, support, fairness, initiative, creativity and professionalism in reporting. Honorees are:

KOSU Radio, Stillwater
OKIE Magazine, Lawton
RSU Public TV, Claremore

The Arts in Education Award recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefitting youth and/or arts in education. Honorees are:

Choregus Productions, Tulsa
Firehouse Arts Center, Norman
Oklahoma City Philharmonic, Oklahoma City

The Community Service Award recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism. Honorees are:

Dr. Bob Palmer, Bethany
Dolores McClure, Enid
Laurie Thompson, Mangum
Mary Bryant, Arnett
Nancy Harris, Arnett
Marlene Woods, Arnett
Philbrook Museum of Art, Tulsa

George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award recognizes an Oklahoma government official or entity for outstanding support of the arts. The honoree is:

Mayor Bill Shewey, Enid

A Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a unique contribution in support of the arts. The honoree is:

Mike Larsen, Perkins

For more information contact Joel Gavin, director of marketing and communications, at (405) 521-2037 or

About the Oklahoma Arts Council
The Oklahoma Arts Council is the official state agency for the support and development of the arts in Oklahoma. The Council?s mission is to lead, cultivate and support a thriving arts environment, which is essential to quality of life, education and economic vitality for all Oklahomans.